Monday, April 10

Belarus President Banned In EU/USA

The EU announced today that it's 25 members will not allow newly "re-elected" President Alexander Lukashenko and some 30 other members of the former Soviet Union.

(The Other WaPo)In a statement, E.U. foreign ministers meeting in Luxembourg said the banned people were "responsible for the violations of international electoral standards and international human rights law, as well as for the crackdown on civil society and democratic opposition."
The U.S. may have done that already, but we don't know
The United States has signaled it also will impose a visa ban on Belarusan officials, including Lukashenko, but U.S. law does not allow the publication of the names of people targeted in this way.